2004-11-17 - 11:47 p.m.
boulevard of broken dreams

disclaimer, please read

some songs just forever remain charged in our minds.

hueristics of the memories we like to hold and some we'd rather lose...

the first time i heard greenday's "boulevard of broken dreams", i was in the sub with my brother.

it was an hour before the fresno - boise state game and he was giving me lessons on how i could improve my game of pool.

his friends called a few times, wondering why he wasn't at so-and-so's tailgating party or why he wasn't at a certain bar.

he simply responded with, "i'm spending time with my sister. i took her up to watch the game with me."

they would then ask why he hadn't met me at the stadium so he could party.

"nah-that's okay. i didn't want her driving up her by herself anyway."

before his friends even called i told him he didn't have to take me, that he could spend time with his friends instead and sell my ticket, which could have been sold as high as one-hundred fifty on e-bay.

he wouldn't have it.

he somehow cherished spending time with me at the student union building of bsu instead of partying with his friends, which he loves to do.


the first verse of "boulevard" says, "i walk a lonely road, the only one i have ever known."

i'm grateful that isn't my case because my brother is my solace.

i haven't seen him since. he gets into a lot of trouble with the law, and he has a lot of trouble period. i could probably count the hours we've spent together this past year. i'm grateful he chose to spend time with me on the day of that game.

it's really a rare thing for me.

everytime i hear "boulevard" now, i smile, remembering the time i got to spend with my brother.

does anyone else have songs that they connect strong memories to?


recent | older | host | about me | guestbook | notes